Melbourne Storm win 2017 NRL grand final against North Queensland Cowboys

nrlThe Melbourne Storm have produced a grand final masterclass to comprehensively beat the North Queensland Cowboys 34-6 and win their third premiership.

Minor premiers and overwhelming pre-game favourites, the Storm flexed their muscle over 80 minutes to end the Cowboys’ fairytale run.

A tearful Billy Slater won the Clive Churchill Medal for best afield, but there was hardly a poor Storm player on the field as the men in purple ran rampant.

Fensom’s leg appeared to snap under the weight of Ethan Lowe, and it took nearly 15 minutes for medical staff to stabilise the injury and get the player off the field.

An arm wrestle ensued after the game got back underway, with a territory battle emerging and neither side able to take any real control.

With the premiership secured and the magnificent Cronk-Slater-Smith trifecta about to be split up, it was time for some razzle dazzle — the three Storm stars combined with some fast hands before Tohu Harris launched a brilliant long pass to Addo-Carr who scored his second.

The tears would flow after the final whistle, with Slater’s incredible comeback from injury capped off in the perfect fashion and Cooper Cronk now preparing for life after the Storm.

If Melbourne’s season was close to perfect, so too was its grand final display.

Comments are closed.